General information

Enlarge map

Island of Vis, basic characteristics

  • Area of the island: 90,3 sq. km
  • Length of the coastline: about 77 km
  • The highest peak: Hum 587 m
  • Climate: Mediterranean
  • Settlements: The town of Vis, the town of Komiža, Rukavac, Milna, Bargujac, Ženka (on the coast) - Podselje, Marine zemlje, Podšpilje,Podstražje, Plisko Polje, Žena glava, Podhumlje (in the interior of the island).
  • Inhabitants: approx. 5000 inhabitants
  • Time: Middle European
  • Traffic: on the right side of the road
  • Electricity: 220V/50 Hz
  • Change of time: according to the Middle european model

Administrative position of the island of Vis

  • The Republic of Croatia (the capital – Zagreb)
  • The Split-Dalmatian County ( the headquarters in Split)
  • The town of Vis, The town of Komiža


Standard Croatian Language
Local dialect differing from the standard Croatian Language


The official currency in Croatia is the kuna (1 kuna = 100 lipa). Kuna ( 1 kuna= 100 lipa ) coins of 1,2,5,10,20,50 lipas and 1,2 and 5 kunas are in use and the notes of 5,10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000 kunas. Foreign currency can be exchanged in banks, exchange offices, post offices and in the majority of tourist information offices, hotels and campsites. The banks are open from 8 a.m. - 20 p.m., on Saturday till 13p.m. In major cities some banks on duty are open on Sundays.

Credit cards

(Mastercard, Visa, American Express and Diners) are accepted in almost all hotels, marinas, restaurants, shops and cash machines.